Slovakia Plus

Slovakia, officially known as the Slovak Republic, is a landlocked country located in Central Europe. It is bordered by Poland to the north, Ukraine to the east, Hungary to the south, Austria to the southwest, and the Czech Republic to the northwest. Slovakia’s central location in Europe has historically made it a crossroads for trade and cultural exchange.



Slovakia experiences a temperate continental climate, with hot summers and cold winters. The climate varies significantly depending on altitude and location. The lowlands have a mild climate, while the mountainous regions are cooler, with heavy snowfall in winter. Summers are generally warm, with temperatures averaging between 20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F).


Slovakia is home to a diverse range of fauna due to its varied landscapes, which include mountains, forests, and plains. Common animal species include brown bears, wolves, lynxes, deer, and various bird species. The Tatra Mountains are particularly rich in wildlife, with many endemic species found in the region.

Longest Rivers

The longest river in Slovakia is the Danube, which forms part of the country’s southern border with Hungary. The Danube is one of Europe’s major rivers and serves as an important waterway for transportation and commerce. Other significant rivers in Slovakia include the Vah, Hron, and Morava.

Highest Mountains

The Tatra Mountains, part of the Carpathian range, are home to Slovakia’s highest peaks. The highest mountain in Slovakia is Gerlachovský štít, which rises to an elevation of 2,655 meters (8,711 feet) above sea level. The Tatra Mountains are a popular destination for hiking, skiing, and outdoor recreation.



Slovakia has a rich prehistoric heritage, with evidence of human habitation dating back to the Paleolithic era. The region was inhabited by Celtic tribes before being conquered by the Roman Empire. Slavic tribes settled in the area in the 5th and 6th centuries AD, laying the foundations for the modern Slovak nation.

Medieval Period

During the Middle Ages, Slovakia was part of the Kingdom of Hungary and later the Austro-Hungarian Empire. The region flourished culturally and economically, with Bratislava (then known as Pressburg) becoming a prominent center of trade and culture.

Modern Era

In the aftermath of World War I, Slovakia became part of Czechoslovakia, a newly formed state. During World War II, Slovakia briefly existed as a separate state under German influence. After the war, Czechoslovakia was reestablished, but tensions between Czechs and Slovaks led to the peaceful dissolution of the country in 1993, resulting in the creation of the independent Slovak Republic.



Slovakia has a population of approximately 5.5 million people, with the majority of the population being of Slovak ethnicity. Minority groups include Hungarians, Roma, Czechs, and Ruthenians. The population is predominantly urban, with significant concentrations in the capital city of Bratislava and other major urban centers.


The official language of Slovakia is Slovak, which is a member of the Slavic language family. Hungarian is also widely spoken, particularly in areas with large Hungarian minority populations. English and German are commonly used as second languages, especially in business and tourism.


The majority of Slovaks identify as Roman Catholic, although there is also a significant Protestant minority. Other religious groups in Slovakia include Greek Catholics, Orthodox Christians, and Jews. Religious freedom is guaranteed by the constitution, and Slovakia has a long history of religious tolerance.

Administrative Divisions and Population

Slovakia is divided into eight administrative regions, known as kraj:

  1. Bratislava Region – Population: 650,000
  2. Trnava Region – Population: 560,000
  3. Trenčín Region – Population: 600,000
  4. Nitra Region – Population: 670,000
  5. Žilina Region – Population: 690,000
  6. Banská Bystrica Region – Population: 650,000
  7. Prešov Region – Population: 810,000
  8. Košice Region – Population: 780,000

10 Largest Cities by Population

  1. Bratislava
  2. Košice
  3. Prešov
  4. Žilina
  5. Nitra
  6. Banská Bystrica
  7. Trnava
  8. Martin
  9. Trenčín
  10. Poprad

Education Systems

Slovakia has a well-developed education system that provides free and compulsory education for children aged 6 to 16. The system consists of primary schools, secondary schools, and tertiary institutions. Higher education in Slovakia is provided by universities, colleges, and specialized academies, with the most prestigious institutions including Comenius University in Bratislava and the Slovak University of Technology in Košice.


Slovakia has a well-developed transportation infrastructure that includes roads, railways, and airports. The country is served by several international airports, including Bratislava Airport and Košice International Airport. The road network is extensive, with major highways connecting Slovakia to neighboring countries and facilitating domestic travel. The railway system is also efficient, with regular services connecting major cities and towns. The Danube River serves as an important waterway for cargo transportation, with several major ports located along its banks.

Country Facts

  • Population: 5.5 million
  • Capital: Bratislava
  • Official Language: Slovak
  • Religion: Roman Catholicism
  • Ethnic Groups: Slovak, Hungarian, Roma
  • Currency: Euro (EUR)
  • ISO Country Code: SK
  • International Calling Code: +421
  • Top-Level Domain: .sk